Bill Taylor Speaker

Bill Taylor

Entrepreneur & innovator; co-founder, Fast Company; bestselling author: Simply Brilliant, Practically Radical, and Mavericks at Work

Bill Taylor: Biography highlights

Bill Taylor shows business leaders a path to go from now to next in a world filled with nonstop disruption. As a young entrepreneur, Bill co-founded Fast Company, the bold business magazine that redefined the genre and chronicled the tech-fueled revolution that transformed business and work.

Known for:

Authors
Business Leaders

Full biography of Bill Taylor

Highlighting free-thinking leaders and companies that are upending their organizations and industries is Bill’s passion –and he had a front-row seat. After selling the magazine, Bill has continued to inspire a generation of executives and company-builders to think differently about leadership, change, culture, and the new world of work. He’s written three bestselling books filled with examples of new ways to innovate and succeed: Simply Brilliant: How Great Organizations Do Ordinary Things in Extraordinary Ways, Practically Radical, and Mavericks at Work. Bill also writes regularly for the Harvard Business Review. In a business environment where ordinary is not an option, Bill Taylor is a natural storyteller who inspires people to avoid the experience trap and not allow what they know to limit what they can imagine about the future.

Bill’s latest book, Simply Brilliant: How Great Organizations Do Ordinary Things in Extraordinary Ways, offers a set of messages and a collection of case studies about how to unleash breakthrough creativity and cutting-edge performance in even the most competitive, hard-to-change fields. Simply Brilliant was published in September 2016 by Portfolio. The book was named “Best Book of 2016” by Leadership Now. Wharton professor Adam Grant calls it “a fascinating look inside companies that are rewriting rules of success.” Sir Ken Robinson says it “offers transformative messages for leaders in all walks of life.” Simply Brilliant is a sequel of sorts to Bill’s popular book, Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself. Bestselling author Daniel H. Pink called Practically Radical “the most powerful and instructive change manual you’ll ever read.” Anne Mulcahy, former chairman and CEO of Xerox, called it “a handbook for successful transformation and a great tutorial for implementing your change agenda.”

Before Practically Radical, Bill co-authored Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win. Just weeks after its release, Mavericks became a New York Times bestseller, a Wall Street Journal Business bestseller and a BusinessWeek bestseller. The Economist called the book “a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great.” The Economist also named Mavericks one of its “Books of the Year” for 2006, as did The Financial Times.

Bill’s three books are just the latest chapter in a career devoted to challenging, conventional wisdom and showcasing the power of business at its best. As co-founder and founding editor of Fast Company, he launched a magazine that won countless awards, earned a passionate following among executives and entrepreneurs around the world—and became a legendary business success.

Fast Company has won just about every award there is to win in the magazine world, from “Startup of the Year” to “Magazine of the Year” to three National Magazine Awards. In recognition of Fast Company‘s impact on business, Bill was named “Champion of Workplace Learning and Performance” by the American Society of Training and Development. Past winners include Jack Welch of GE and Fred Smith of FedEx. In less than six years, a magazine that took shape in borrowed office space in Harvard Square sold for $340 million.

A graduate of Princeton University and the MIT Sloan School of Management, Bill Taylor lives in Wellesley, Massachusetts, with his wife and two daughters.

Show more

Watch Bill in action

Playlist
1/5 videos
1
Bill Taylor Preview Video
Bill Taylor Preview Video
08:04
2
Bill Taylor   Creating Meaningful Change
Bill Taylor Creating Meaningful Change
01:28
3
Bill Taylor   Culture as a Strategic Advantage
Bill Taylor Culture as a Strategic Advantage
54
4
Bill Taylor   Megabus Transforms an Industry
Bill Taylor Megabus Transforms an Industry
04:27
5
Bill Taylor   The Risk of Playing it Safe
Bill Taylor The Risk of Playing it Safe
02:57
Kinney Group, All-Hands Meeting

“We could not have been happier with Bill’s keynote at our all-hands meeting. Bill arrived early and got to know our CEO. He really took the time to understand our event and even changed his content based on the presentations he heard before his lunch talk. And he stayed to sign books for the attendees, even though they arrived late. He really went the extra mile!”

“Bill Taylor knocked it out of the park! He had a great style and delivery, and the message was bang-on what we were looking for. He also did the best job I’ve ever seen of tying his message back to comments and examples from internal speakers that spoke before him.”

General Mills
Helzberg Foundation Entrepreneurial Mentoring Program

“Bill gave the best keynote I have ever heard at the conference, and one of the best keynotes I have ever heard anywhere. He was energetic, told great stories, engaged the room, and was right on target. Outstanding!”

Wharton professor and New York Times bestselling author of Originals and Give and Take

A fascinating look inside companies that are rewriting the rules of success. If you’ve ever wondered whether imagination beats knowledge or passion overcomes ambition, drop what you’re doing and read this book.

Adam Grant
Boston Children's Hospital

Simply Brilliant is just that—real examples of the journey from ordinary to extraordinary. Bill Taylor challenges us to think differently about elevating our organizations to be truly distinctive in what we do and how we do it. His book inspires and equips us to accept that challenge.

Sandra L. Fenwick
President and CEO
Boston Properties

Bill rocked the house at Boston Properties University. We loved the presentation, and we get great feedback every day from our colleagues and customers! Great messages, engaging stories, the presentation was simply brilliant.

Original Equipment Suppliers Association (OESA)

Thank you for speaking at the OESA Annual Conference yesterday. Your presentation was the perfect way to end the day! The audience was engaged and taking notes – which was amazing at the end of a long day. We distributed over 300 of your books at the reception!

President and CEO
Gensler

“The response to your talk has been off the charts! I alone have received two dozen ‘Bill was great’ comments from friends and colleagues. Huge home run, incredibly positive! And I can’t believe how many folks have your book on their desk.”

State Farm

“Everyone enjoyed Bill’s engaging and down-to-earth style. His message was very timely and resonated with our leaders, and we found great value in the follow-up lunch discussion. We also appreciated the resources he provided. His book was a real hit!”

Northeast Wisconsin (NEW) Manufacturing Alliance

“Thank you again so very much for sharing your message at Manufacturing First.Your thoughts inspired and energized the attendees, and the audience gave you rave reviews. You ‘knocked it out of the park.’”

Co-Founder, Endeavor, author, Crazy Is a Compliment: The Power of Zigging When Everyone Else Zags

We’ve all heard of the garage startup that becomes a tech giant like Apple or Google. But what about the startup that’s actually reinventing the garage? Simply Brilliant provides a roadmap for inspiration and innovation in the unlikeliest, most everyday places.

Linda Rottenberg
Hudson's Bay Company

I have followed Bill Taylor since the early days of Fast Company, and have used his ideas in the turnaround of Hudson’s Bay Company. I’m a believer!

Bonnie Brooks
Vice Chairman
Oracle

It went great in all 3 cities. Very well received by the audience and a pleasure to work with onsite!

Senior Field Marketing Manager
Leading Real Estate Companies of the World

Thank you for a terrific presentation to our brokers and managers. We heard so many great comments about your remarks. You intrigued, informed, and inspired us all, which added great value to our conference experience!

Bill's speaking topics

Check Bill Taylor's availability

To enquire about booking Bill Taylor, email info@speakersassociates.com or complete this form.

Check Availability

You

Your event

Your budget

Other speakers and topics

Options

Would you like to receive our free monthly speaker bulletin?